Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Options on a Jumbo mortgage?

tag
ccsauer
Contributor

Options on a Jumbo mortgage?

Good Afternoon, all!

I've written on here many times, seeking advice early in my career to ready my credit for life, then again when my wife and I bought our first house, again when setting up a 401(k), and again during a few refinances. I've always loved the help you guys have given, and the straight, honest responses. So, here's my next big thing:

My wife and I are 32. She's a Teacher, I'm a Chemical Engineer. Together, we make $125K, gross, plus-or-minus (bonus, overtime). We have 2 kids with one on the way, living in the house we purchased in 2007 with an 80/15 piggyback loan, refinacned the 80 at 5.25% and the 15 is stuck at 8%. 

Yes, $125K is a lot, i agree, but I also had 25 months of unemployment between 2010-2013. During that time, I watched the kids and looked for a job and collected unemployment, my wife was tenured at her elementary school, so, we never ever ever missed a mortgage payment or car payment. I got a great job in my career in 2013, and have had 2 huge raises and a stellar review. I'm very confident in our future now. Our credit cards are in great shape, our credit is even better; she clocks in at around 830 and I'm around the same, if not a little less. She has $30K or so in her retirement fund (TRS pension, refundible amount) and I have $35K in my 401(k)s. Unfortunately, we had no cash on hand.

Our house, on the other hand, is worth approximately exactly what we owe on it. Our cars are in similar shape, though I bet they are worth a bit more than our loans, I'd have to check.