cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Overtime to make a 40 hour week?? Underwriter..

tag
blahblahblaj

Overtime to make a 40 hour week?? Underwriter..

I have been a firefighter for 6 years now but recently changed from the government to a private company 7 months ago and had a SUBSTANTIAL pay increase (3x more). My job is still Fire related only now I am in fire prevention vs. fire suppression. I have been told by the lender that is fine and they used my current base income for the pre-approval. Well now that we were approved for much more than we care to spend we have found a home and decided to offer on it. It is less than what we were approved for but slighlty more than what my last two years taxes would qualify us for based on my previous job with the Gov.. What does this have to do with my topic question? When it rains I dont work! Period. I am a Fire patrol for an electrical company that installs HV power lines for Edison. Jan-Feb is the ONLY time it rains in SoCal! Prior to Jan. I was working 60-80 hours a week and now I barely scraped 40 in two of my paychecks recently but have been re-assured that this happens every year about this time then my hours go right back through the roof in March. My concern is now that we have found a home at the WORST possible time EVER to prove income what is going to happen?? How will the underwriter view this since they only ask for the prior month of pay stubs? Also those two paychecks had overtime to even get to 40 because I only worked 4 10hr days that week, how will they view that? 

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
OilFieldEngineer
Contributor

Re: Overtime to make a 40 hour week?? Underwriter..