Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Paying off credit cards with gift prior to applying for a mortgage

tag
Sandestin1
New Visitor

Paying off credit cards with gift prior to applying for a mortgage

My parents have offered to pay off my credit card debt so that I can buy a home. They will pay it off and then I will close all but one credit card.   They are not asking for repayment of the money.  How will the mortgage company look at this?  I will not qualify for a mortgage without this debt being paid off.  I am a school teacher moving to an area where no rentals are availabe, so I have no choice but to buy a home now.  Please let me know if you have any experience with mortgage lenders underwriting criteria as it pertains to this issue....

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

Re: Paying off credit cards with gift prior to applying for a mortgage

@Sandestin1 wrote:

My parents have offered to pay off my credit card debt so that I can buy a home. They will pay it off and then I will close all but one credit card.   They are not asking for repayment of the money.  How will the mortgage company look at this?  I will not qualify for a mortgage without this debt being paid off.  I am a school teacher moving to an area where no rentals are availabe, so I have no choice but to buy a home now.  Please let me know if you have any experience with mortgage lenders underwriting criteria as it pertains to this issue....

Do not close your credit cards. It will drop your score like a rock if you close the accounts even if they are all paid off. You can close the cards after you close on the  house to satisfy any conditions by your parents.