Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pre-approval. How does this look?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Pre-approval. How does this look?

So me and my wife just got pre-approved for an FHA loan from a local mortgage broker recommended by our Realtor. I'm still relatively new to all of this and would like to know what you guys think of this breakdown?

Should we shop around or does this seem fair? We understand our middle score is a bit low however we worked very hard to get here. 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!

http://imgur.com/a/f2Zae

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Pre-approval. How does this look?

Seems pretty standard to me. Appraisal seems a little spendy but other charges are not out of line. If this is your only offer thus far I definitely recommend speaking to other providers, sometimes having other qoutes can give you leverage to get better deal or reduced costs.
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Have you shopped with anyone else? Seems packed with fees from this laymans viewpoint.
Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

This is our first preapproval, we really like this lender, he's been extremely helpful and quick to respond to the myriad of questions we've had throughout the process, however I have no reserves shopping around. We're thinking of applying at another local company and possibly quicken rocket?

I have also read that additional mortgage applications won't effect our credit due to the time frame of hard pulls?  

Message 4 of 9
MauiMan85297
Established Contributor

I would definitely shop around as it doesn't hurt you in that 3 week-1 month timeframe and doesn't cost you nothing.  The appraisal is high as well as other fees packed into the estimate.  Some lenders will credit you back some if not all of the fee they charge to do the loan.

Message 5 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

I would ignore quicken, if you want a decent online option use Guaranteed Rate
Message 6 of 9