Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PreQualifying: Raise scores first?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

PreQualifying: Raise scores first?

My husband and I are looking to purchase our first home in the very near future. We have been working on credit scores, downpayment, etc for the last two years. I'm curious about the pre-approval process. Do they prequalify to get a "range" you'll be approved for and then qualify you again once you find a specific home? Or does the prequalifying also count as the actual qualifying? Basically, how loose is the prequalifying process?

It is so hard to continue to be patient! haha

Christmas was rough this year (i'm a full time student) so to make life easier we used credit cards. Now all of my cards are paid down below 30% and his cards are below 10%. Both of our scores average in the mid 600s. Mine specifically are TU650 EX661 EQ663   I can't recall his exactly but they're similar. These scores do NOT yet reflect paying our credit cards down. We had about 80% charged up so i'm hoping our scores should see a good boost soon. A month, right?

So should we just go now and get prequalified so we can start looking? Or should we wait another month until our scores will reflect paying down those credit cards?

Thanks!

Message 1 of 7
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
DallasLoanGuy
Super Contributor

Re: PreQualifying: Raise scores first?

If you are over 620, I would rather see you save a few bucks for reserves rather than blow all of that cash on trying to raise your scores.

You can always pay down the cards later.

Your approval has to be re-done once you find a property and the real numbers need to be run thru underwriting.

If the loan is within the guidelines you were approved under, there shouldn't be any problems. And the creit report should be good for 120 days.

Retired Lender
Message 6 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable