cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Preapproval : Which banks to try?

tag

Preapproval : Which banks to try?

Hello,

myFico forums have been very helpful my first new car purchase..(2009 Honda Accord... Beautiful car)... and now I am trying to buy a home... Thanks a lot for all the great suggestions in advance and for all those very informative threads..

My Background: I have been working for 3 years at the same firm now.. (straight from school with a PhD) and now make $8100 per month (Gross salary) My FICO scores are TU 714  EQ 712 with a credit history of 4 years 8 months (average length: only 2 years, due to many cards opened in 2008 & 2009) I have $75K in savings in BoA.

I am looking to buy a house with a price tag around $250,000 for a primary residence(first home). I would prefer a low down payment ( 5%) and want to go for an FHA loan.

My question is which banks should I go to for a preapproval to get  low rates? Does having my savings account BoA help?  Are there any which I should definitely avoid?

Thanks a lot

FirstCAR_FirstHOME 

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Preapproval : Which banks to try?

With your scores, you will probably be much better to pursue an conventional loan with 20% down.  I know that drains your savings a bit, but the rate you could get on a conventional loan with 20% down (maybe even do a 15 year loan) would be great as well as the fact that you would not have to pay the PMI or MIP.  You could then probably rebuild your savings fairly quickly with your income and with the lower house payment you would have.  That said, as far as picking a bank, talk to several within the same week.  Go with the one that seems to be the most upfront and on top of things.  IF tere rate is a bit higher or fees, see if you can play them against the other quotes you have recieved.

Message 2 of 7
Lel
Moderator Emeritus

Here's a good thread to compare FHA vs conventional financing: