Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Proceed or walk away.. home loan

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Proceed or walk away.. home loan

I am a newbie to the board, so I will try to keep it brief while providing all of the essentials.

My husband and  I are looking to buy a new build inventory home, thr anticipated closing date would be sometime in May. We have placed a contract on the home and paid an earnest deposit of $1k with an additional $6k due within 14 days.

We are working with the builder's lender to apply for a home loan. Through the desktop system we were approved however according to the  lender this could be a false positive.  I have 8 disputes on my credit report and my husband has 2 disputes.

Most of the disputes are old and paid with the exception of 2 collection accounts. One with Meade & Assoc. for approx $800.xx and the other with Midland for approx. $1800.

The accounts  have comments listed as "consumer disputes account"

With he new regulations,  I was informed that all disputes had to be removed or resolved. I contracted all of the creditors and was able to resolve most of them with he exception of the two collection accounts. I contacted TU and spoke with a Rep who stated there were no active disputes and credit score is an accurate depiction. I was advised there were two options 1. I could contact the creditor directly and ask them to remove the language (previously tried and failed) or 2.  They could open up an active dispute to remove the dispute. 

I spoke with my lender to advise of the options presented and he recommended a rapid rescore.  I wrote a letter for each of the trade accounts flagged by the desktop system, which was 4 of the 8 accounts and they will take my medial score with TU and  run a rapid rescore.

In anticipation of my credit score taking a hit,  I did pay all balances on open trade lines to below 15% in an attempt to offset the possible hit to my score.