Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Proof of income for VA Loan?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Proof of income for VA Loan?

To all the mortgage (VA) experts out there:

I'm a physician who will be finishing training this year.  To those who are not familiar with residency pay physicians typically earn around $45-50k each year while in training.  Same applies to me but in 2008 I took home about $95k (which includes moonlighting).

I will be taking a federal physician (public health) job with a starting salary of $145k (sounds like a lot but less than the private sector).   I have a contract from the federal agency that states this salary explicitly. 

Problem is I will be relocating to a new area and would like to qualify for a $400k mortgage.  My new salary will support this (i.e. with respect to debt/income) but my current salary/tax returns will not support this. 

Will a lender approve me based on my new (contracted) salary?  I really don't want to move into an apartment for two months just to get a couple "paystubs" showing the higher salary.

Thanks for any help. 

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
BrianB_The_Loan_Professor
Valued Contributor

Re: Proof of income for VA Loan?

No response is not good news - You have to show income from the new job for Govt loans.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Brian B The Loan Professor
Mortgage Banker - offering FHA, VA, USDA , and Conventional mortgages in all 50 states -

If I do not respond to a follow up question please feel free to contact me directly
Message 2 of 4
ShanetheMortgageMan
Super Contributor