Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about being approved for a VA Loan

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Question about being approved for a VA Loan

I am a veteran who is looking to use my VA Loan. My credit score is 630 on Transunion, 651 on Equifax and not sure about Experian Faco is 640. I have four student loans that are listed as 120 day lates on my report and I have one charge off for a private loan that is due to come off on June 30th.

The student loans were late because of an error- I was still a fulltime student, they went into repayment and I ignored the payment notices. I didn't even open the envelopes, because I thought they were just updates on a loan I didn't have to pay back yet.

They were brought current, and are now all showing a 0.00 balance due to reconsolidation. I have written them letters and called but have gotten no help. They still show 120 days late.

What are my changes of getting a VA loan with these items still showing on my credit report? Other than the Charge Off I have no collections, My utilization is under 20%, my salary is around $65,000yr - with monthly debts of $800 combined with my wife's student loan. Savings are very little so I want to go VA for that reason. Less than $2000 right now.

My wife has great credit, she is a work from home mom with a part time salary of around $12,000

Any experts out there who can help me? I live in San Diego.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
ShanetheMortgageMan
Super Contributor

Re: Question about being approved for a VA Loan

When did the 120 day late payments occur?  If it was over 12 months ago then you should be OK as long as the scores qualify (aim for 640).