Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question on HUD homes

tag
Kozmo
Frequent Contributor

Question on HUD homes

This is not particularly about getting a loan or credit scoring...but does anyone know about purchasing HUD homes?

I know a little but when you go to the website, some houses say "Extended" or "exclusive". When you hover over it..."exclusive" says "owner occupants, non-profits, and government agencies"

That means that only they can buy the home? **bleep** for?

Beyond confusing to me.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
jinca
Established Member

Re: Question on HUD homes

We just closed on a HUD home a few weeks ago. I'm not an expert, but what was explained to me was that for a certain period of time only O/O buyers can bid. After that period expires if HUD has not accepted an offer, investors can bid. 

Message 2 of 7
Kozmo
Frequent Contributor

I don't understand what owner occupant refers to...the original owners? Why would they put a bid on a house they lost? and how could they ever get financing to do so?

Message 3 of 7
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

@Kozmo wrote:

I don't understand what owner occupant refers to...the original owners? Why would they put a bid on a house they lost? and how could they ever get financing to do so?

Owner occupant, when you are buying a HUD home (or bank owned or short sale even) means that as the buyer you intend to own and occupy the residence as your primary residence. In other words, you are going to live there and not flip it or use it as a vacation or investment home.

Since you are looking to buy a home to actually move into, it means that you are given a better chance and first dibs at buying the home.

It has to do with stabilizing the neighborhood with owner occupants rather than filling it with investors that are flipping or investors that are renting.

Its a good thing for you.

Message 4 of 7
Kozmo
Frequent Contributor

Ahhh that makes much more sense.