Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions: 401K Loan/ DTI/ Affortability

tag
Iincognito
Regular Contributor

Questions: 401K Loan/ DTI/ Affortability

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the mortgage boards, but spent a few years on the credit boards... Smiley Happy

I have a $30,000 401K loan I took out a couple of months ago to pay off most of my debt; roughly $250 is being pulled out of every paycheck to payback the loan. In general, will this $500/month expense count in my DTI?

My wife and I are thinking about seeing a loan offer by the end of this year and I also have a few questions regarding the pre-qual/ approval process...

Together, our income is $125,000 per year (excluding bonuses). She has no debt, except for a $360 monthly car payment, and scores in the 780s. I have some debt, a student loan of about $25,000 (deferred until 5/2014), a $4000 credit card balance (which will be paid off by the end of this year), a $580 monthly car payment, a $12,000 personal loan (which we are working on paying off right now -- monthly payment is $380) and my 401K loan. My scores, right now, are around the 730 range.

We're hoping to qualify for a $500-520K home loan with a $20K down payment for property values at $520-$540K, that would mean a monthly mortgage payment of roughtly $2900 per month (PITI). Is this possible?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Iincognito
Regular Contributor

Re: Questions: 401K Loan/ DTI/ Affortability

ok, I think I answered my own question regarding a 401K loan counting towards my DTI. In general, a 401K loan will not count in a DTI calculation when applying for an FHA loan; not sure about a conventional loan.

Still curious if we would qualify for a $500+ loan with our income and debt... BTW, we're in California, Ventura County.

Message 2 of 6
beb86
Valued Contributor

Re: Questions: 401K Loan/ DTI/ Affordability

401k loan is a loan you are taking out against yourself so the generally dot count it against your DTI 

Message 3 of 6
Shogun