Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions related to first time home purchase

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Questions related to first time home purchase

Hello everyone - I'm a board newbie but have read through about every post on this particular thread.

I am currently attempting to purchase my first home, and I am receiving conflicting information from 2 brokers and I am hoping someone on this list will be able to give me some unbiased advice.

For a background on me:
I currently work full-time and attend law school @ night.  I am half-way done (woo hoo!) so I have a small (legal assistant) salary now, which will hopefully double or triple after I graduate and pass the bar.  This will happen in 2-3 years, mid to late 2009 is when I finish school.  One of my big issues is that since I work full-time, I cannot work overtime or a 2nd job to meet extra bills or school expenses.  Therefore towards the end of every semester (fall, spring, summer) my credit cards are @ 100% max, and they get paid off to $0 3x a year w/ my student loan refund check (Aug, Jan, May).

So here are my issues:

1.     With my salary now, I qualify for down payment assistance from a couple of different areas within our region (depending on where I buy).  The one being pushed on me the hardest @ this time is a 25k down payment assistance that is a loan from the city, deferred with no interest to be repaid when the house is sold.  Issue is:  one lender is telling me to use the d/p assistance programs and another lender is telling me that I do not want to deal with them.