cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reality of FHA pre-approval in next 3 months?

tag
Teasha
Regular Contributor

Reality of FHA pre-approval in next 3 months?

I need some help so I'm just going to throw down everything I can...

I have good to excellent credit with no derogs, see signature. 2 years at same employer only 32k income. My DH has 1-2 collections on all 3 reports (currently in process of PFD). is an AU on 2 cc's and is 10 months into rehab on 7k of student loans that are due to consolidate February.

For us to get a mortgage both our income and scores are considered... Middle score of highest income and/or lowest middle score. Chime in if I'm incorrect, I'm new to all this. So this means... No matter what my score and good credit history, my DH's score is the qualifying score for the mortgage. Is this correct??

Do we even have a chance to pre-approval for an FHA anytime soon? Am waiting to pull DH's fico till February (several of the collections will be removed and the remainder will be paid to $0) this will give us a better stand point. the scores are in the low 600 currently.

Im just overwhelmed with the hustle, and all this time just thought my credit would be all we needed and I'd just get the loan in my name but would only qualify for around 125k. Maybe im thinking about this way too much.... We then decided it would be nicer to have both of us on the loan to qualify us for a larger mortgage. But I can't find anything that will have him qualify without a good long standing credit history. (Underwriting would be needed) only 8 months utility bill, 10 months student rehab if that's counted and a  1-2 yr lease he can use In his name for history. Would this be enough?

Please help... I really don't know. As much feedback I can gewot hat simplifies this for me will really help. It now just seems like forest for the trees.

Starting Score: 0 No score until August 2011