cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recent Grad getting a mortgage No W2 :(

tag
adamcc91

Recent Grad getting a mortgage No W2 :(

Hey guys, I've always been listed as a dependant under my father, we own a couple businesses and I've always worked for him, and yes, it was cash.  It was a great idea in the beginning, but now I can see where it can bite me in the ass.  Anyways, I've graduated and I am now working for our company, on the books.  I gross about 55k a year (only been working since may when I graduated)  I am engaged to a wonderful girl who also just graduated and also makes about 60k, she has work history, but I don't.  I also don't have w2 forms because I've never technically had an income.

Well now we want to buy a house, I can show recent pay stubs, and we both have pretty good credit.  I was just wondering what are the chances the bank would help me out or approve me when I have such a short work history with no w2.  Also, the fiance has about 30k in student loans, I don't have any.  

Also, since may we have chewed about 20k off of her student loans (she was around 50k)  Should we keep throwing disposable income at that, or work on building up a larger down payment, I was kind of thinking FHA route for the lower downpayment 

One last thing, we both are working in our degree fields.

please give me some ideas and or advice, thanks!!

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
sports1965
Frequent Contributor

Re: Recent Grad getting a mortgage No W2 :(

I am no expert but u need to be able to prove your income .they are going to ask for your W2's

And you need to prove 2 years worth of employment  history 

Message 2 of 11
ezdriver
Senior Contributor