Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Salary's affect on Auto loan terms?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Salary's affect on Auto loan terms?

I am thinking about buying a new (or gently used) car in the next three months, but I was wondering about the affect my salary will have on any loan I apply for. I have a good FICO score(760+ at all 3 bureaus), but my salary is amazingly low right now as I am a new college graduate waiting for a background check to be finished for a full-time job. I'm working part-time right now, but need to buy a car before I start my full-time job. If my FICO score is good, will my low salary affect the terms of my loan (the interest rate in particular)? Thanks for your help.
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
ShanetheMortgageMan
Super Contributor

Re: Salary's affect on Auto loan terms?

When I applied for my car lease my income was a determining factor.
Free Mortgage Advice & Pre-Approvals (FHA, VA, USDA, Fannie, Freddie, Non-Prime, Construction, Renovation/Rehab, Commercial) since 2002
Located in Southern California and lending in all 50 states
Message 2 of 5
Boswd
Valued Contributor

why not go for a cheaper used car that you know you can afford right now instead of jumping right into a new car.   It would be wiser financially until you get on your feet and even then a used car is a much better option financially since a car is a depreciating asset.

Message Edited by Boswd on 12-04-2007 08:34 AM
Message 3 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable