cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Same salary,W2, same job, etc. for 4yrs but I am now owner of same company. Qualify for va loan?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Same salary,W2, same job, etc. for 4yrs but I am now owner of same company. Qualify for va loan?

Have had the same job for 4 years but now happen to own the company as of  Jan 1 2015.  I was W2 before the buyout and will remain W2 with the same salary after with pretty much the same job responsibilities.  I had full p&l responsibility before I just now happen to own the C-corp that will be taxed as subchapter s.  The company has been in existence since 2002 but due to ownership everyone wants to look at it like a new company.  Revenue for company is just under $3M.  Will underwriting make an exception under the "self employment" rule in this case?
Note:  I am a veteran and qualify for VA loan.  Credit score is low 700s.  Post BK7 4 years.  Own current home with equity, no lates, no lates or delinquent post BK.

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
ezdriver
Senior Contributor

Re: Same salary,W2, same job, etc. for 4yrs but I am now owner of same company. Qualify for va loan?

I'm not sure what "exception" by underwriting to which you refer. However, the fact that you own the company that issues your W2 will necessarily require both business and individual tax returns for at least two tax years ... maybe more. I had to produce five years of personal and business tax returns.

Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Same salary,W2, same job, etc. for 4yrs but I am now owner of same company. Qualify for va loan?

Thanks for the reply. I guess by "exception" I am referring to is the typical requirement for being "self employed" for at least 2 years before qualifying for a mortgage as a "self employed" applicant.  I wasn't sure if the W2 status from the same company for 4 years (even though I now own the company) would trump the 2 year seasoning period, etc.  Thanks again.