Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I be worried?

tag
whoathere
Valued Member

Should I be worried?

So I'm in underwriting for my first home. To give a little background, I signed a contract for my town home back in April. We set the closing for June 29. the reason for the delay was because my student loans were in the process of consolidating so 90 days should have given me enough time.

Fast forward.. In may I discover a program for a free 3% towards closing the IHDA. In order to take advantage of this you must have a certain credit score (640 required my middle score is 757 or something) and a certain amount of cash, as well as a DTI lower than 45%. After paying off all credit cards and refinancing my car, I was down to 44.3%. However, my banker kept coming up with 45.1%.

I'm an accountant and I know how to do these back end ratios and how to calculate DTI so I trust that my #'s are correct. I signed a bunch of paperwork and the application on June 6, with the task of getting a letter from my student loans about what my future payments will be.

Turns out they can't give you any official document stating what future payments will be, and besides I'm under the 45% anyway! I send the LO my spreadsheet showing income, debts and a 44.267% DTI. He doesn't respond. This was on June 7, the day after meeting with him to sign all of the paperwork and fill out the app.

I still have heard nothing. Just yesterday I received a letter from Direct Loans about my student loan consolidation completing and my new payment some $140 less than it was before. My DTI is now 41.2%. I send him a PDF of this letter as well as another spreadsheet showing my new, much lower, DTI