Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I switch brokers?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Should I switch brokers?

I am a single teacher in NC and decided that with the low interest rates and high foreclosure rates, now would be a good time to buy.  In September, I called a realtor to see if a home was still on the market and she talked me into using her as my realtor. I knew that I needed to get a preapproval before I really started looking, but she told me it shouldn't be a problem and that she wanted to show me some houses.  I ofcourse fell in love with a foreclosure that I could afford and she refered me to a mortgage broker she knows (turns out it is her sister).  Her sister ran my credit and it showed it was about 30 points below what it had been when I last checked.  It turns out my student loan company misreported something and I had to submit documentation to the broker so she could dispute it.  The issue was taken off of my credit and she said she would rerun my credit to bring up the score.  During this time, the house I wanted sold and the marker pretty much went empty.