cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I try to get a pre approval now or wait?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Should I try to get a pre approval now or wait?

I have so many things stopping me from getting a house right now but I at least want to know if it's worth getting my credit report looked into so I can know what to fix by then.

My scores are Eq. 654, Transunion 700, and I checked my Experian back in August and it was a 608. I'm sure Experian is much higher right now because I got a 40 point raise this month from Equifax alone. After I graduated college in Dec. 2013, I had an 8 month gap in employment. Fortunately,  I just started a new job in August and I'll be bringing in 33k.

My baddies are a collection of $436 from my old apartment for cleaning expenses.

My old mortgage shows a $0 balance but it has several 120+ days late from 2014. I sold the house back to the lender in April 2014.

Chase shows a charge off balance of $2000 but they sent me a letter a year ago trying to settle for $500

I currently have my student loans in deferement and I have 3 inquiries (2 within the last 2 months)

By May, I hope to have 10k saved and I want to try a conventional loan. Im looking to purchase anywhere from a $70k condo to a $125k home in NC... triad area.

My only expenses are a $25 cc, $100 for a cell phone, and $33 for car insurance. I currently live with my bf and I give him $350 for rent 

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
ezdriver
Senior Contributor

Re: Should I try to get a pre approval now or wait?

If your objective is to fix your credit, then forget about the scores and focus on the content of your three credit reports. Those you can get for free at annualcreditreport.com once per year. Pulling your own reports will not affect your credit scores/profile in any way.