cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should we add me to the mortgage?

tag
Sunflower0809

Should we add me to the mortgage?

My boyfriend and I have been looking for a home for close to a year now but we've yet to find out dream home. We're really trying to find a home by the end of the summer, at the latest. He does not qualifiy for a FHA loan according to our last mortgage broker (who was a bit of an idiot) as he works a commision based job and he claims too much on his taxes. We definitley do not want to over extend ourselves but we want to have our best oppurtunity of getting the house we want.

My questions are....
Should we try putting myself on the pre-approval/mortgage? I am currently a full time student and working part time at a family owned business. My credit scores fall around 620-640 and his are above 700/720. Currently I am making beans at my job but in the summer months I'll bring in close to 2000/mo. Would it be worth trying at that time? I know the broker had requested the past two paycheck stubs from my boyfriend, is that all they'd request from me? Do they verifiy with employer? Will claiming an additional 24k help our chances of getting a better mortgage?

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!

P.S. Anyone in  Miami, Florida know any non-idiot mortgage brokers they've worked with? Send me over their contact info! Thanks!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
SonorityGenius
Established Contributor

Re: Should we add me to the mortgage?

Bf-Gf mortgages are a risky area..

In your situation, you bring low FICO scores overall; and since you say you're a full time student you must have quite a few student loans too? (Your debt gets factored in ALONG with your income)

If he can qualify on his own income, his 700+ scores should suit you a nicer rate vs adding you.. (from the overall summary you presented)

Message 2 of 5
Sunflower0809