Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sourced and Seasoned Funds Question for an FHA loan

tag
mccallb
Frequent Contributor

Sourced and Seasoned Funds Question for an FHA loan

I have a full time job that pays me plenty of money but I have also been doing contract work on the side to save for a house sooner.  The contract work doesn't pay a huge amount, but has been consistent fr the last few months.  I haven't claimed it on taxes before because this is my first year doing it.

My question is If I want a house thats $225,000 with FHA and the down payment is 7875, and I have 7500 available right now, and will have 9500 available in the middle of may, and around 11,000 June 1, when should I start the preapproval process?  All the funds are obviously sourced, I just have several contracts coming due at the same time.

Thanks much

CK EQ: 730 / CK TU: 735 / EXP FICO: 721 / EX Vantage: 793 / Total Exposure: 112K
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Mrs_hambright
Frequent Contributor

Re: Sourced and Seasoned Funds Question for an FHA loan

I would start the process now.. Because most of the time you take time finding the house. Also as long as you will have the well documented funds by closing then it shouldn't be a problem. The house process takes about 6 weeks to complete, so I think you can start now. Hopefully a mortgage guru will chime in.. I am still in the process of buying my 1st house.
Message 2 of 7
Jamisonke
New Contributor

Our LO explained that the funds used for closing on our home needed to be seasoned for two months. The underwriter painfully scrutinized the deposits in our accounts and determined which would be excluded from use (even with a LOE). Basically, our cash deposits were out.
--------------------------------
Current FICO scores: EQ 762, EX 761, TU 773
Message 3 of 7
Jamisonke
New Contributor