cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Spouse's credit is horrible, but mine is improving. Looking to buy first home.

tag
Ravensfan2001
Established Contributor

Spouse's credit is horrible, but mine is improving. Looking to buy first home.

We've been pretty irresponsible financially most of our lives and are just now looking to buy our first home early 2014 (long story). My husband's credit is hopeless at this point. He has many recent derogs, and I'd rather not include him on the mortgage application. My credit isn't all that great, either. But I've been rebuilding on my own since May 2012 with some success. I figure by March 2014 (when one of my auto loans will be paid off), that I could seriously start the homebuying process.

Me:

$55k-$60k annual income

Same employer 12 years

Current scores in my signature

Him:

$50k annual income

Same employer 20+ years

Scores in mid-500s

My credit

2 medical judgments, to be paid off by summer 2013

6 collection accounts that will fall off this year

1 unpaid collection from Midland that I'm still trying to figure out. will fall off credit 2014

2 paid small collections (property tax and overlooked old cable bill)

My debt

Auto loan $4000 balance, final payment March 2014

Auto loan $11000 balance, unplanned new loan 12/2012 (son totalled the old car)

Credit card total balance $2100 as of today (plan is to pay off all cards with refund and store them in the sock drawer, with the exception of 1 card)

Starter loan $250 balance, final payment August 2013