Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting a new job and applying for a mortgage

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Starting a new job and applying for a mortgage

How long do I have to wait to apply for a mortgage after starting a new job? I was at my old job for 3 years but started a new job with one pay stub so far. It's in the same industry with a significant salary increase and there was no gap in employment as I only took 2 days off plus the weekend before starting my new job. Typically 30 days of paystubs are needed from what I can tell but can I apply for a mortgage and accrue the 30 days before close or do I have to have 30 days pay before I even apply?
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Starting a new job and applying for a mortgage

This littlepigy came in and asked-

"how long do I have to wait to apply for a mortgage after starting a new job? "

They say 2 years, but always exceptions.  I'm not a pro, so any advice I give is just from hanging around here and listening to the jokers that are.

But no gap in employment, same field etc, carries some wt.  But it's like this here, somebody offers me a chance to better myself and family in the same field? I'm gone.  (think long and hard before moving from a field you like/love to another just for the money though).  And I'll worry about the mortgage situation later.

Message 2 of 7
Lemmus
Established Contributor

...you can probably get a pre-qual from any number of lenders that will let you start house hunting ...most lenders will want a longer history on your current job but just how long varies with the overlays ...by the time you bring a contract to them you should be ok ...and even then, the govt guaranteed loan guidelines allow the uw plenty of leeway in these types of situations ...its a problem, but not an insurmountable one ...hth

Helpful Links: Do I Qualify? | Mortgage Calculator | USDA Mortgages | Opt Out | FICO Versions