Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting from scratch.... any advice is welcomed

tag
msnabs
Valued Member

Starting from scratch.... any advice is welcomed

Hey guys,

I have been working with my local USDA office to see if I would qualify for a Direct Loan and they told me that I make too much money for the program. The person there suggested that I apply for the Guaranteed Program, which is also through USDA. I currently make $33K a year and my monthly expenses are: car payment-278 CC 32 and a unsecured loan-50. I am also a veteran and could qualify for a VA loan as well. My mid score is 648. My questions are: which program would be most benefical? Should I do VA or USDA Guaranteed? I still have all of the docs from the Direct Loan program and my student loans are in deferment until 2011. What bank or mortgage company should I contact in SC? I dont have any relatives or friends that have recently purchased a home to ask. I was thinking either BB&T or Wachovia also Wells Fargo. Any suggestions or advice would be great!

Experience is the best teacher........sometimes you have to pay for it with your youth.
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Starting from scratch.... any advice is welcomed

From what I've seen, VA's rates tend to be higher than USDA.

BUT, if you do decide to go VA, see about joining USAA and getting your VA loan from them. Trust me, they have a MUCH better rep than Wacky (guess where I -- unfortunately -- bank? If you guess Wachovia, you get a gold star!).

Seriously, we've dealt with USAA and Wacky with several loan products over the years and USAA has consistently gotten awards for their customer service for a reason. Wacky just gets complaints.
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

USDA  - no downpayment, no pmi but a 2% funding fee that can be rolled into the mortgage

VA - no downpayment but monthly pmi if not 20% down