Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sub- 600 score. 10-20% downpayment

tag
Mrzjbabii
New Contributor

Sub- 600 score. 10-20% downpayment

Hello I'm very new to this mortgage thing. I am 25 yrs old active duty military seperating in 6 months. My credit is in the toilet right now thanks to a paid judgement, paid tax lien, and a few collections. VA loan is out of the question as my husband and I have scores right around 520 to 540. My husband has already seperated from the Marines and will be recieving disability but right now the only income we have is mine which is about $4,800.  

My question is are there any lenders who out there who will finance a 100,000 loan with 10-20% downpayment?

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
basballguy
Frequent Contributor

Re: Sub- 600 score. 10-20% downpayment

I don't know but it seems like the general consensus is it takes only a matter of months to raise your score to "reasonable" levels to qualify for a loan. 

I think 580 is the bare minimum and you have to jump through crazy hoops just to do that....including increased downpayment. 

But for comparision, I went from 522 to 660 in 6 months. 

Message 2 of 13
cim
Established Member

The best thing you could do is to contact several mortgage brokers to see if they can find a loan to fit your situation.  The good news is that a 20% downpayment will improve your chances.

Message 3 of 13
c06u
Established Member