Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Talking to a loan officer for the first time

tag
Ravensfan2001
Established Contributor

Talking to a loan officer for the first time

This is my first time in this situation, so I'm really nervous/anxious/all of the above.

I am making an appointment to talk with a loan officer about what my DH and I need to do to get approved for a VHDA or FHA loan (Virginia). We've been playing phone tag for about 2 weeks, so I actually haven't spoken to her yet. What I wanted to do was show her copies of all our credit reports and W-2s to get an idea of what else we need to do to qualify for a mortgage. Will she help me without a hard pull on our credit? I don't want a hard pull unless I know that we can be approved with unpaid derogatories left on our CRs. Or do I have to sacrifice a hard pull for this? I have about 20 inqs and my DH has 5-7 inqs currently. We made $106,000 last year and it will be a few thousand higher this year. The houses in my area are anywhere from $350,000 - $600,000+. Would we even qualify with our income? We both have 401k accounts and have $2500 available cash. My dad can gift, also.

Starting Scores: (4/16/12 lender pull) TU 596 | EX 550 | EQ 576
Current Score (9/3/15): Wally TU 639 | Amex EX 628 | DCU EQ 639
Goals: Homeowner as of 9/27/2013. Last app 8/1/15. TU-5; EX-16; EQ-13. Aiming for ZERO inqs.
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
tjeff
Valued Member

Re: Talking to a loan officer for the first time

If she is a good loan officer, then yes she will meet with you and talk numbers. If you know your credit score, that will also be beneficial. Remember, what she quotes you could be higher or lower but at least you will have an idea of what you need to work on and how much you can afford.

Message 2 of 4
206captain
Valued Member

Don't be nervous.  They are professionals and it's their job to guide you.  I guarantee that no matter what credit messes you might bring them, they've seen worse!