Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Best Course of Action?

tag
JBoswell
Contributor

The Best Course of Action?

In trying to make a long story short, I'm trying to buy my family home. My mother is no longer able to care for it, and it's just become to much house for her, as she recently had a decline in health. We had hoped not to be in this position for another couple years, but I would really hate to see her have to sell the house to someone else. She's willing to give us a good deal on the price but she really can't afford to just give it us.

I had some problems with my credit in the past. I've been paying everything on time for the past 6 months, and will continue too, but I only actually have one credit card currently active. I'd heard that you shouldn't take out any new credit before trying to apply for a mortgage (which we hope to do in March of next year), but at the same time I've heard that it's better to have more than one card. So I'm a little confused.

I want to do whatever will put me in the best position to be able to get approved for the mortgage. My husband's credit is good. My score only averages around 545. But that's up from the 400 something it WAS at 6 months ago. Is it worth getting a second card? Will that actually help or hurt my credit and chances at the mortgage?

The other problem is going to be my income... I work as a paralegal but in a small firm and I'm paid direct from their business account. I make about 800 a week, but have very little documentation. Sometimes it just so daunting. Being able to buy this house from my mother is so important to us. I know that we could afford it (as long as our interest rate isn't absurdly high hah) But sometimes I just feel overwhelmed. I guess I'm just looking for some direction. What is the best way to tackle this situation?? Any help is GREATLY appreciated.

Message Edited by JBoswell on 10-08-2008 10:35 AM
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
ShanetheMortgageMan