Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The best thing to do with PMI insurance

tag
Jerroldtrice
Established Member

The best thing to do with PMI insurance

We have been pre-approved and are going with new construction on an FHA loan. The LO told us she would roll the $3,377.50 for PMI insurance into the loan, however, it looks like it would save us $200 a month by paying it upfront.

Is there a greater benefit for doing it one way over the other? Or is it just personal preference?

I love this place, all of you are great!!

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Walt_K
Senior Contributor

Re: The best thing to do with PMI insurance

Are you sure about your numbers?  What is upfront MIP now, 1.75%?  If so, for an upfront MIP of ~$3300, you're talking about about a $200K loan right?  Financed over 30 years at 4%, you're talking about $2 per month.  Financed over 15 years at 4%, more like $20 per month. 

I might be missing something, I'm no expert on this.

ETA:  Don't know why I made that so complicated.  No matter what the total loan amount is, $3375 financed over 30 years or 15 years is the same.  I used 4% as an example of what your interest rate might be.  In any event, I don't see how this is going to save you $200 per month. 

Starting Score: ~500 (12/01/2008)
Current Score: EQ 681 (04/05/13); TU 98 728 (01/06/12), TU 08? 760 (provided by Barclay 1/2/14), TU 04 728 (lender pull 01/12/12); EX 742 (lender pull 01/12/12)
Goal Score: 720

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 2 of 9
pizzadude
Credit Mentor

@Jerroldtrice wrote:

We have been pre-approved and are going with new construction on an FHA loan. The LO told us she would roll the $3,377.50 for PMI insurance into the loan, however, it looks like it would save us $200 a month by paying it upfront.

Is there a greater benefit for doing it one way over the other? Or is it just personal preference?

I love this place, all of you are great!!