cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

To Appy or Not to apply...

tag
JJ21685

To Appy or Not to apply...

I've been monitoring out credit reports for several months and paying off as much as we could this last year. According to our LO we have to have a minimum of 620 to get approved for a home. Today I got notice that my scores are TU 642 Ex 641 EQ 635. His are TU 635, Ex 634 and EQ 642!!!! Smiley Happy I'm so happy and I want to just jump in and apply right away, there's a darling house for $110,000 I'm just dying to have and we have a down payment of $4,000 meeting the 3.5% required. However, we do still have some things to pay off. The majority of which are medical bills, we have no credit card collections left. Just medical, a cell phone bill and a cable bill. It will take us about a year to pay the remainder off. All of these things are older collections (mostly '06 and '07 and 2 medical at the beginning of '11) We have an income of $60,000 a year and he has been at his job for 3 years and mine at 7.  We have 3 credit cards with low balances (or at least they'll be low friday lol) car payments at $545 a month and a student loan at $50 per month and we have not been late on ANYTHING in 2 years. Should I go ahead and apply or wait another year? The rates are so good right now and I found the perfect house so I'm feeling quite impatient. Smiley Wink

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: To Appy or Not to apply...

Welcome!

This could make a difference...where did you get your scores from?

Before applying, opt out with the CRAs.

Be prepared to pay off the remaining debts. YMMV, but some lenders would require you to pay it all off and some won't.

Message 2 of 5
JJ21685