cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to get credit score up to qualify for USDA Loan.

tag
Melissalyn17
New Contributor

Trying to get credit score up to qualify for USDA Loan.

I am very new to this. I have been trying to find out as much information about raising my husbands credit score enough to qualify for a USDA loan. I have a few questions:

1. We used Identity Guard to get his scores: Equifax 559Experian 556TransUnion 608. Is this an accurate place to get scores from? Where is the best place to pull that will be closest to numbers pulled for loan preapproval?

2. My husband has 120+ of late payment on one student loan, he just finished a rehabilitation in September for this loan and they said they will remove the late payments. The loan was finally picked up and they said everything is good so the late payments should be fixed in the next 30-45 days (this was on 5/1). Has anyone been through this, how much did it help your credit score? Also does it matter that the loan was not picked up by the original lender? It used to be Wells Fargo and now it is some Great Lakes company.  

3. We spoke with a Mortgage Broker  (whom is a family friend) who told us steps to take to help raise our credit score. I am weary of some of the advice (since it is the opposite of what I have read), but did it anyways. So now I am wondering if we ended up hurting his score.

a.) He told us to pay down my husband's credit card, but leave $10 on the balance. Husband's balance was close to limit ($700). We paid it down to $10, is that really better than just paying it off?