Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USDA Direct cert -- too low?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

USDA Direct cert -- too low?

I've read that there may possibly be huge cuts to the USDA if the current budget proposals are passed.  There is 0 funding for the Direct program.  

What does that mean for its future if it is cut?

I just learned about USDA Direct this week.  I'm a teacher at a Catholic school and I make around $28k.  I'm 30 and still live at home, feeling stuck since even an apartment is this area of PA is close to $1,000 a month to rent.

I sent in the pre-qual paperwork to my local rep and got an email the next day (Tuesday 7/18) with the formal application.  Gathering all the paperwork and hope to send out tomorrow.

I'm worried that I won't be approved for several reasons:

1. I have good credit.  Scores are around 790-810
  2. I do have "safe and adequate housing" currently since I live with my parents
  3. I have been able to get pre-approved for FHA loans, but with an amount that really only allows me to buy a rowhome in the city, which I would not feel safe/comfortable doing.  Was preapproved for I think $120k

Do those things really matter?  Do I still have a chance at an approval?  I hate that I am 30 and still living at home; I graduated from college in 2009 and in PA, at that time, there was a large swath of teaching job cuts across the state.  Really has not improved since then.  I had a series of long term sub jobs for teachers on maternity leave, and in between those I was daily subbing.  Finally decided 2 years ago to take a job in a Catholic school with low pay, just to have something steady.  I do enjoy it, but don't make enough to rent by myself (where I'd want to live), and same with buying.

I have no credit card debt, own my vehicle, and have about $17k in student loans.

I've learned a lot from this forum already, so thanks to all the previous threads I have read!

10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable