Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding GFE help

tag
SantanzChild
Valued Member

Understanding GFE help

So just to make sure I understand what is going on here. My total out of pocket on this is going to be 3177.62?Or is it going to be something else and I just dont understand what I am looking at....  

Interest Rate3.125%
Annual Percentage Rate 3.733%
Loan Amount$120,946
Points 1.250 / $1,512
Settlement Costs $6,773.22
Down Payment$0.00
Third-Party Fees $751.80
Lender Fees $2,642.37
VA Funding Fee $2,545.60
Prepaids and Escrow $1,183.45
Credits to Closing Costs  Minus($1,350.00)
Cash Due at Closing
$3,177.62

I already have $1000 in escrow for earnest money and the VA funding fee is being rolled into the loan.

Appreciate the help.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
BaileyMae
New Contributor

Re: Understanding GFE help

I'm going FHA and my lender gave me a Fees Worksheet that is easier to follow than my GFE. I'm new to this but I believe you can subtract the earnest money from cash due at closing. If the funding fee is rolled in that can be subtracted too I think.

Something that wasn't on my fees worksheet or GFE was tax prorations. How it's calculated depends on how the state pays property taxes but in my case I'll be getting a credit. That could also lower (or raise I suppose) your amount due at closing.

Hopefully someone with more experience chimes in
Lender Pulled Scores(2/2014)

EQ: 750 (same a myFICO) EX: 707 TU: 728
Message 2 of 6
ezdriver
Senior Contributor

That cash-to-close amount includes any money sitting in escrow ... such as you earnest money deposit. Other than that, you got a good handle on it.

Message 3 of 6
ShanetheMortgageMan
Super Contributor

Yeah what you were provided doesn't make a ton of sense.  A GFE never tells you how much you need to bring in at closing either, so not sure what exact form you got those figures from.