Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unique Situation - Mortgage Help

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Unique Situation - Mortgage Help

Hi everyone, 

First time poster here, but I've been a long-time reader of the boards! Any help or insight people could provide would be greatly appreciated! 

I have a unique situation that I'm trying to figure out the best course of action for. I've been renting a house from my brother for about 13 years. He's recently had some financial issues after dealing with massive medical debt post open-heart surgery and my niece being diagnosed with epilepsy. They decided bankruptcy was the only viable course after doing all they could for many years to manage the debt. Both his current home and the house I rent are going to be going into foreclosure procedings withing the next 4-6 months. 

He has offered to sell me the house we live in for what he owes on it - a mere $50,000. We had talked about this in the past and it was on my radar already. The house needs some work (new roof, new deck, etc) but my fiance and I like the house, the area and are willing to purchase it for the great deal he's offering if we can figure out how to do so. We're looking at it as a first step to owning property - then reselling after a few updates for a profit, or keeping it as a rental property.

I've been on the path to rebuilding my credit over the past few years, and have succesfully increased my score from the high 400s to between 616 - 675 lately - depending on the credit agency and my cc utilization that month. I have a few negatives still on my credit - from old medical bills.