Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VA Lender Search

tag
getnthere
Valued Member

VA Lender Search

I am pretty new in the mortgage loan game, so I am going with the VA loan for the easy(well, easier) in.  So does anyone know how to find a lender that specializes in VA loans in Illinois, and how to tell if one you've found is legit and actually knows how to handle VA loans?

A little background:  DW just retired because of disability from the Navy, which entitles her to VA loan.  The twist?  Her credit is not that great--mid-500's from student loans before the Navy, so we will be relying on my credit/employment more.  So really we are looking for lenders that don't really look at credit scores because of having the VA guarantee.  

Also, because of the disability+retirement, a lot of the student loans may be forgiven, which would affect our DTI a lot, but I don't know how long we would have to wait for that to be reflected in the CR's, so anyone with tips on that should feel free to chime in too.

Impossible is only impossible at the end of time, when you can no longer do anything.
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

Re: VA Lender Search

You might try this site:

Illinois Mortgage Lenders

Good luck to you. And thank your wife for her service.

From a BK years ago to:
7/09 TU-742 EQ- 779
8/09 TU-765 EQ- 783
9/09 EX pulled by lender 802

You can do the same thing with hard work.

Message 2 of 4
ArmyStrong
Frequent Contributor

From what I understand, VA doesn't require a minimum score, but most banks have a minimum for VA loans. For USAA and NavyFed you'll currently need at least a 620. (but as you can see below, it IS possible to get there from the low 500's! Good luck!)
Message Edited by ArmyStrong on 02-09-2010 10:58 PM
TU: 556 12/12/08 ~ EQ: 509 12/12/08 ~ EX: 509 12/12/08
TU: 588 8/7/09 ~ EQ: 529 7/30/09 ~ EX - ?? (509 12/12/08)
TU: 619 9/01/09 ~ EQ: 608 9/01/09 ~ EX - ?? (640 FAKO 9/01/09)