cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VA Qualified, Good Score, Denied, Advice?

tag
IvDogg
Established Member

VA Qualified, Good Score, Denied, Advice?

Hello all, I'm hoping I could get some advice on working towards a Mortgage Loan.  So far I've been denied by one via AUS and another manual underwriter has approved me for a fairly low amount considering my income.

My middle score is currently 671 (was 679, but an innacuracy literally just appeared this past weekend).  My gross income is $117k/year, I am an active duty Army Officer of almost 14 years.  Monthly debt is $891 if you include my student loans which are currently on deferment, $770 if not.  On payday my cash assets would show $12k, ($7k savings, $5k checking).  I'm searching for a Singla Family Home in Hawaii, would like to spend no more than $3k/month P&I, tax and insurance.

Here's the negatives on my credit report that I feel are holding me back (starting from the worst):

- Shortsale closed 9/2011, it's inaccurate on EX, but prior to 9/2011 it's showing 43 - 90+ days late, 4 - 60 days late, 1 - 30 days late.  On EQ it's almost accurate as 8 - 90 days late, 2 - 60, 2 - 30, but shows my payment status as 120+ days past due (in dispute).  It's scheduled to disappear from my EX by the end of May.  Then off my EQ by the end of July.  Is this too much of a roadblock for me to get approved now?  How about after it gets removed from EX and my 40+ late marks go away?  Or do I really need to wait till it's completely gone in July?

- Auto Loan, open, currently paid on time, prior lates:  5 - 30 day lates within the past 2 years - 11/2013, 10/2013, 7/2013, 11/2012, 8/2012, 1 - 60 day late 10/2011, 5 - 30 days lates older than 2 years.