Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VA loan with a Federal Tax lien

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

VA loan with a Federal Tax lien

Me and my husband are  schedued to close on our house Jan 27th.2012, today we get a notice about a Federal Tax lien that is on my credit fie that I have been paying on for 6 years,the balance is $ 7226.00. My question is will this affect me getting approved for my VA loan if the total is not paid by closing ? My credit scores are all above the 620 needed to quailfy for the loan although my husband middle score is around 604.

We only have enough to cover closing and nothing extra.

Any suggestions

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: VA loan with a Federal Tax lien

If your lender pulls another credit report before closing this will definitely be a big issue, especially if you didnt reveal this payment arrangement to them before. Read the attached link from the IRS website. http://www.irs.gov/newsroom/article/0,,id=236540,00.html I was able to qualify for this withdrawal, and it sounds like you may qualify as well. It took me about 10 days to get the withdrawal in the mail from the IRS. I then sent it to the credit bureaus to have it removed. I think it took about 3 weeks before all 3 bureaus removed it, but others may be able to give you some better contacts that can have it removed quicker. You should jump on this immediately. I would FedEx the form to them tomorrow (or check to see if they have a fax number). Good luck and act quickly!
Message 2 of 11
GoodCredBen
Valued Contributor

Once you get that you can also ask your LO to do a rapid rescore 

My credit journey has completed. I am currently sitting at 800+ across the board.

I started my journey here years ago, and thanks to MyFico, it really is possible.
Message 3 of 11
DallasLoanGuy
Super Contributor

i have seen this before. some time a problem, some times not.

might be ok with an ontime payment history.