Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Want to sell but owe more than its worth

tag
HigherFico
Regular Contributor

Want to sell but owe more than its worth

My husband and I want to sell our home but owe more than its worth...about $26,000 more. Any advice on how we can sell? I checked Zoloft for a zestimate we have now gotten an official appraiser. There are a few other homes in the neighborhood for sale but they have been on sale forever! What can we do?

Starting Score: 520
Current Score: 627
Goal Score: 700

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Want to sell but owe more than its worth

I'm not an expert but maybe get a seperate loan for the 26k or higher if you can. Your payments/debt ratio on that loan vs income would have to be considered if you want to buy anther home in the future.

Message 2 of 5
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

It is  a good idea to engage an appraiser as you have done to determine market value when you are not sure. You could also get a general idea by having a Realtor give you a market analysis with sold comps in your immediate area so you know how far you are upside down.

If your actual market value comes in lower than the amount you owe on your mortgage(s) then you have a couple of options:  1) bring cash to closing to pay off the mortgage and other costs to sell or 2) offer your home as a short sale.

In a short sale the lender would have to approve the sale since they would be picking up the seller closing costs (typically Realtor commissions, transfer fees, title fees and whatever is customary in your area).  The lender would also accept a short payoff, but only if they approve the buyer and the price. If you decide to go in this direction, you won't be able to buy anything and finance it for 3 years (if the new mortgage is FHA) and for a min of 4 years if it is conventional.