cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What are the chances I will qualify for a mortgage?

tag
Dk30

What are the chances I will qualify for a mortgage?

First let me tell you a bit about myself. I am 30 years old, I work full time in construction estimating. I have been at my current job just over a year now. My annual gross income is $30,000. I do not have any current debt. My credit score right now is 675 and I currently have 3 recently opened credit cards. One is secured, and two of them are cards for rebuilding credit with low limits. I have a bad financial past and had made lots of mistakes. I currently have 8 chargeoff accounts listed on my report, 2 of them are actually listed from the original creditor and the junk debt buyer, so they are essentially the same account. I paid all of these off, some settled for less than the full amount and some paid in full. These are all over 5 years since the delinquency was recorded, so all of them will fall off of my report within two years, and about half of them within the next year. I have $20,000 in my bank account and am currently looking to get a house with my fiance. I am currently living at home due to my past credit issues, so I don't have any rental or mortgage history. My fiance has a good credit score, probably over 750 and she is 25 years old and makes around the same amount of money as I do with absolutely no blemishes on her credit. We are looking at homes or condos in the $80,000 range. We would probably put a down payment of around $20,000 down. So my question is, from what I have told you, do you think it is possible for the two of us combined to get a loan, or would it be better to see if she would qualify on her own and add me to it in a few years if possible. If we have to we would rent for a while, but home prices are still low and I would love to purchase if possible. I apologize for writing such a long story here, but I have been a myfico member for a bit now and have bee