cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which one should I get first, a mortgage loan or auto loan? Please help!!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Which one should I get first, a mortgage loan or auto loan? Please help!!

Hi Fico Community,

To begin everything, I am new at building my credit. I am young and only opened my first credit card 4 years ago while in college. That credit card defaulted since I was behind payments. I settled it with the bank but have a bad mark on my credit report. Currently, I only 3 have credit cards to help build my credit score and do not have any loans of any kind. Currently, MyFico Score Watch updated me that my Experian Score is now at 698.

Now I am in need of a new vehicle. I am also shopping for a mortgage and hopefully own a house this year. Is it possible for me to obtain an auto loan for $7000-$10,000 in the next few weeks AND obtain a mortgage ranging $100,000-$135,000 later this year around July/August?

I just want to be sure so I do not shoot myself in the foot and be denied the mortgage. Should I get the mortgage first the auto loan? Any advice or help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
namvet
Established Contributor

Re: Which one should I get first, a mortgage loan or auto loan? Please help!!

If your auto is reliable i would work on geting the mortgage first. 

Message 2 of 12
mocha82
Regular Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi Fico Community,

To begin everything, I am new at building my credit. I am young and only opened my first credit card 4 years ago while in college. That credit card defaulted since I was behind payments. I settled it with the bank but have a bad mark on my credit report. Currently, I only 3 have credit cards to help build my credit score and do not have any loans of any kind. Currently, MyFico Score Watch updated me that my Experian Score is now at 698.