cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why is your middle score used when applying for a mortgage?

tag
sunflower17

Why is your middle score used when applying for a mortgage?

Hello:

I am new to this thread. I just applied for a Pre-Approval with my bank and was told that the middle credit score is used. Can someone please advise whay the middle score is selected for this process? My Experian Credit score is higher than my middle score (Equifax) and I am wondering why they would not use the higher score.

Please advise.

Thanks,

sunflower17
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
DallasLoanGuy
Super Contributor

Re: Why is your middle score used when applying for a mortgage?

old banking rules....

throw out the high and low.... this seems to be the best measuement of your willingness to pay your obligations.

not all creditors report to all three.... so this works in your favor sometimes.

Retired Lender
Message 2 of 10
sunflower17

Thanks for answering.

Any idea how I can specifically raise the middle score. I paid off all my debt last year and my scores are now:

Trans Union 653
Equifax 657 (middle score)
Experian 726

Do you think if I write to equifax and tell them that my score is reporting at 726 they will raise it? Any advice? i am planning to buy a home in March 2010 and would like to raise my score by then. The only debt I have is my student loan which I pay on time every month and I recently received a new cc from my bank which I pay off every month.

I would appreciate your advice. I am new to this whole process and really would like to raise my score.

Thanks
Message 3 of 10
Lel
Moderator Emeritus