cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will I be able to qualify for a mortgage? (Student loan issues)

tag
Bella1980
Established Contributor

Will I be able to qualify for a mortgage? (Student loan issues)

Hi,

I would like to buy a house in July 2011. I know that seems like a long time away but I have alot of inquiries on my reports from my app crazy days last year and they won't drop off until November 2010. I also should have all my credit card debt paid off by then. Actually, I will have all debt paid off by July 2010 but here is my problem.

I recently graduated from grad school with $130,000 in debt for both undergrad and grad school. Unfortunately, due to the economy I was unable to find a job in the area I got my grad degree in and am working somewhere else. I also do not have a high income right now. I anticipate making $40,000 next year as an annual salary.

If I have no other debt on my reports asides from the $130,00 in student loans, will I be able to get a mortgage for a $125,000 home?

I will have saved up the 3.5% deposit by then.

Or am I doomed from ever owning a home because I owe so much in loans and don't have a high income?

Starting Score: TU- 682, EQ- 698, EX- 713
Current Score: TU- 723, EQ- 747, EX- 737
Goal Score: 760 PLUS FICO's

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
rockymtngrl
Frequent Contributor

Re: Will I be able to qualify for a mortgage? (Student loan issues)

How much are your monthly payments on your student loans and monthly payments on all other debt you have? What price range of house do you have in mind?
Message 2 of 6
Bella1980
Established Contributor

I am looking at houses between $100,000 - $125,000.