Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will I get pre-approved?

tag
Etno
Valued Member

Will I get pre-approved?

My husband and I joined Navy Federal about 6 months ago. We have our checking and savings accounts there as well as his direct deposit. I am a full-time student and he works full-time at the same company for the last 2+years, salary $49,000. We are in our mid-20's. His scores are around 625-650, mine are at 650. We don't have a lot of tradelines (I have one credit card, he has 2) but I am hesitant about applying for more so close to applying for a mortgage. I have no lates, he has 2 lates from last summer on a student loan that was supposted to be in deferment but they won't budge on removing them. No other lates, no debts (5% reporting on the credit cards and I can pay those down to 0 at anytime), no car payment. Student loans are in deferment. We both have a few old collection accounts that were settled years ago and I have had no luck having them removed - those are the only bad things on our reports except a paid judgment of mine that's set to fall off late next year.

We would like to purchase a home this summer, and I have been looking at some properties on the Homepath site. Navy Federal is an approved lender for them, has anyone had a mortgage with NFCU for a Homepath property? What's the minimum credit score and downpayment for NFCU in general? We are looking at getting approved for about $140-150,000.

Thank you everyone for your input!

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
JM-AM
Valued Contributor

Re: Will I get pre-approved?

I do not see much from what you say that would not qualify you. Scores may be borderline, but there are a few lenders approving with a 620 mid score. You would prefer to be  around 640 mid score. They will use the lower mid score between you and your husband.