cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will I qualify for a USDA guaranteed rural housing loan?

tag
clmiles1

Will I qualify for a USDA guaranteed rural housing loan?

My husband & I have been renting for several years (8 years with current landlord) but want to purchase our 1st home.  I am trying to rebuild my credit.  My husband has been out of work and just recently got a job.  His credit score is probably less than mine and his income is very low as he is currently employed part time.  I want to know based on the information below if I would qualify for a USDA guaranteed loan and if I should add my husband as a co-applicant?  I don't know if he would hurt or help me with qualifying.  I found online a copy of the USDA underwriting guidelines for the guaranteed loan and I don't understand the streamlined underwriting criteria section.  It sounds to me that if I have a credit score of 620+, lenders don't have to take any action for derogatory items on my credit report.  Help!!!!!  Thanks!

Credit.   

My credit score is 633 (Experian).  Per my 6/4 Score Watch report, I have total of 22 accounts on my credit report (16 with negative indicators; 8 of the 16 are collection accounts currently reporting with a combined total of $4,358 past due).  The negatives (other than the collection accounts) are as of 4/09 and older.  The collection accounts are for department store cards from 2008 & older.  I also have 1 public record for a tax lien on a previous student loan.  The lien was satified in 8/08.

Income. 

My gross monthly income is $42,202 + ~$2,000 overtime pay + ~$2,000 bonus pay + $2,400 in child support.  My husband’s gross income is ~$15,000 (part time pay w/varying hours).

Source of income. 
Both my husband and my income are from employment.  I am salaried but receive overtime pay.  My husband is hourly and receives overtime pay.

Monthly debt payments. 
Car - $294 per month.
Secured credit card - $25 per month.