Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will We Qualify? And for what amount?

tag
My2cents
Regular Contributor

Will We Qualify? And for what amount?

Hello. DW and I are currently in Ch 13 and about to be discharged in 2 months.  Our scores are in the mid 600

(583-636-638) and (639-669-639) we make slightly over 100k together.  We have cards with only a 4% util, less than 600 dollars in CC debt.  Current bills only come to 1800 per month.  We also have some dwnpayment 25k.

We currently have a small mort 30k bal w payment of 400.00 dollars.  What can we get.

Trying to make the cents come together.  My2centsSmiley Wink

700 Club Member
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
MrCredit
Established Contributor

Re: Will We Qualify? And for what amount?

Im an analyst cant say which bank.... I want my job but.... I would say this, you will not be able to get a mortgage till it is discharged, or at least if you dont want to send red flags up to the trustee... With your income I would say you can get something in the neighborhood of 190-205k. The thing is you will have to FHA with these uncertain economic times, conventional mortgages have tightened up, the best thing is you will only have to pay 3%, I dont want to get noisy but if your money 25k is cash, I would wait till your discharge and put your down payment in the bank, they are going to want to see where you got the money from.... Good luck. By the way you should get a rate of something in the neighborhood of 6.5% it also depends on where you are buying FL and TX are tough markets due to homeowners insurance hikes and foreclosure rates, banks are being real careful lending in these areas. Your DTI looks great! You will have to wait 6 months after the discharge to do the mortgage though if you go through FHA
Message 2 of 11
BrianB_The_Loan_Professor
Valued Contributor

You will be ablt to buy now if you choose with 12 months agreed payments and permission from the trustee.