Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Would I be able to get a mortgage?

tag
seruby
Frequent Contributor

Would I be able to get a mortgage?

So after realizing I've been renting apartments for 10 years and spent close to $175,000 on rent, and getting into a better financial and credit situation, I'm looking to buy a house within the next year.   

Here are answers to questions posed in the sticky above:

Credit.  What are your credit scores and if you have any, what negatives (collections, charge-offs, late payments, BK's, judgments, tax liens, back owed child support, etc.) are on are credit and if they are owing or not.  When were the negatives, this is important, month/year is preferred, such as 3/07.  

Credit Scores:  EQ-662, TU-644, EX-654

Have 2 accounts in collections from 2012 - 1 for 990 for rent owed (doesn't show DofD online) 1 for $3850 for charged off card.  3 cards charged off in 2/2013 with DofD of 8/2012.   An auto repo in 5/2012, DoFD 1/2012.    2012 was just a really bad year.

Income.  Gross income is what is important when qualifying, not net income.  

Currently making $89,600/yr.   I work full time, but as a contractor.

Monthly debt payments.  This goes hand in hand with income and the new mortgage payment to determine your debt to income (DTI) ratio.  Only items on credit is the general rule, but also items such as alimony, child support, union dues and some other work related expenses are included too.  Only the minimum required payment amount is what underwriters are concerned with.  

Car loan $410 (am currently a month ahead on this),  Credit cards typically no more than $30.

Employment (for those who are employed).  What type of employment such as self-employed, S-corp, W-2'd, 1099'd, part-time, full time, 2nd job, etc.  How long have you been on the job & how long have you been in the industry.  A 2 year employment history is what most loan programs require.