Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Would I qualify for a mortgage now?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Would I qualify for a mortgage now?

Unique situation. I am a self employed professional making 400k verified self-employed income before taxes. Looking at a 700k mortgage for a high end condo in FL. Living expenses are minimal @ 2k a month. Just paid off all government student loans and am completely debt free and will start saving for 20% downpayment.

I got divorced 6 years ago which has wreaked havoc on my credit. FICO is around 630 now after quality credit repair service. I had private student loans and CC debt that I put on my name to take out for ex's schooling while we were in school. I made decision to not pay for her debt and now it is all out of statue of limitations but still reporting. There are 5-6 charge offs ranging from a 3k CC debt to about 35k in private student loans for a total of about 60k. Never been sued, no judgments, no bankruptcies or public information, no lates since 2010.

I refuse to pay for her debts and it is out of SOL. Will I qualify for a good interest rate without having to wait for 2018 (some private lenders are reporting dates inaccurately) until everything drops off in it's entirety. Mortgage will only be on my name with my credit.

I have 70k in retirement and am on the deed of a fully paid for property with my parents with a value of 240k

Would I qualify now with any lenders?
Message 1 of 21
20 REPLIES 20
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Would I qualify for a mortgage now?

No one?
Message 2 of 21
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:
No one?

It is Sunday night so the board is usally slow during the weekends.  With that being said, lenders don't use FICO 08 for mortgages.  The scores used are EQ 04, EX 98, TU 04.