Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

applying for loans in more than 1 state

tag
Sk323i
Regular Contributor

applying for loans in more than 1 state

I'm considering both CA, NV, and AZ as potential places for a move. Each of them equally at this point, and the loan is a major factor. 

Is it un-wise to apply for FHA loans with lenders in each state?

Are there lenders that are agnostic to states?

I'm thinking more about going with a smaller lender who may be more easy going when underwriting, etc. 

First Option

PrimeLending

Anyone familiar with Rocket Mortgage - is it specific to state when applying?

525 score as of 9/2015 --- only way to go is up!
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

Re: applying for loans in more than 1 state

Rocket Mortgage is a marketing name that Quicken Loans uses. My experience through various customers (I'm a Realtor) is poor with Quicken Loans but others on this site have had success. I know that QL was sued by the DOJ for some FHA loan origination issues so I wouldn't consider QL under any circumstances. JMO. 

I'm not familiar with First Option so I can't comment on that one. 

PrimeLending is a good mortgage lender in my experience - large, not small. The quality of your loan experience will depend on the quality of the loan officer so make sure you can communicate with him/her to your satisfaction. 

FHA loans are nationwide and you would make application with the lender that will do the loan in any of those states. In other words, if you are looking to get an FHA loan, make sure the lender you are using can issue a loan in any of the locations you are interested in pursuing. You can get a pre-approval without a specific location, but you need a specific location (exact property and contract) to obtain the loan. You can't make application in 3 states with 3 lenders for an FHA loan - preapproval yes, but not a full mortgage approval.