cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

bad experience with lender (first time homebuyer)

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

bad experience with lender (first time homebuyer)

Ok so correct me if im wrong because im really new to this.

Me and wife just took the plunge to start home shopping and we were referred to a real estate agent by a friend. She then referred me (the agent) to a lender. We spoke briefly and she asked me to fill out a application on her webiste for the loan, we did that and waited.

She emailed me after me emailing her about the status of the application. Right after i emailed her i got a notification from my CK app that said i had a new inquiry (and a minus 5 points even though she said it would harm my credit) so im assuming she had just ran the application. She had informed me that me and my wife had a 618 9very unlikely but im new to this) score and we needed a 620 to be approved for a fha loan.

Ok the weird part is that i pulled myfico scores are nowhere near a 618. My scores through the CreditCheckTotal site were EX661 TU672 EQ633. So what gives? even more so if she ran my wifes credit why didnt she get the same alert that i got? So im a bit bummed about the ordeal, I know our scores are stellar but we have made great strides in the last few months with the scores. I was at 529 two months ago. So are we being played? or am i abit overly optimistic regarding our scores in refernce to a fha approval.

Should we attempt to go with different lender? or will my score drop again with the credit pull or should we continue with our credit score improvement journey and try again in march?

Thank you for your time

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
CH-7-Mission-Accomplished
Valued Contributor

Re: bad experience with lender (first time homebuyer)