Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fha Loan for low income

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

fha Loan for low income

I am only going to make like 16-18k this year, and made the same low amount in 2011, (2010 and 2009 i made 30k salary a year)  with the job change i am hourly, but full time with benefits, but its only $10 an hour,  is it going to be possible for me to get a fha home loan on like a starter home 40-50k range? i figure even though i dont make money anymore if its full time, consistant and the homes cost is low it wouldnt look as bad.  I have excellent cash reserves, i am working on my credit(its not good atm, but i have been building it perfectly for 6 months now) I have no student/auto loans or other debt.   Do banks only consider how much your debt to income ratios, down payment and cash reserves are for fha as far as money goes, or are they going to sneer at me in general because im below the poverty line?

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
IOBA
Senior Contributor

Re: fha Loan for low income

IMO, you should be ok.  They will look at cash down (how much can you put down - the more the better), the DTI (no more than 25-30% in general and this includes mortgage, taxes, and insurance), cash reserves, credit, assets, and the chances of continued employment.  

Play around with the mortgage calculators on the website,   Plug in your numbers.  The calculators can tell you how much you can afford.

If you give us a better idea of what you are looking at, we might be able to provide better information.

* how much of a down payment

* credit score

* where are you looking to purchase

* what kind of home?  (mobile, stick built, condo?)

* HOA fees?

* condo fees?

* about what will property taxes be?

* are you likely to be employed for the next 2 yrs or 5 yrs?

* how long in your current field?

* how long in your current job?

Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable