Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how much down

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

how much down

Curious how much down is required if scores are good enough and everything else checks out? One bank told me I could do either 3.5% or to save on the pmi stuff I could put 5% down. I always assumed 20% was the standard but Im not a mortgage expert. 

Ive always heard fha is less down than conventional but not completely sure. 

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

Re: how much down

@purebulldogs500 wrote:

Curious how much down is required if scores are good enough and everything else checks out? One bank told me I could do either 3.5% or to save on the pmi stuff I could put 5% down. I always assumed 20% was the standard but Im not a mortgage expert. 

Ive always heard fha is less down than conventional but not completely sure. 

3.5% for FHA minimum is right; and, 5% for conventional is also right.

Message 2 of 10
sports1965
Frequent Contributor

20% down to avoid PM I if I am not mistaken if it's  conventional loan.

Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

@sports1965 wrote:

20% down to avoid PM I if I am not mistaken if it's  conventional loan.

what is PM?

Message 4 of 10
DanTheMan77
Regular Contributor

PMI  = Private Mortgage Insurance

Typically if your down payment is less than 20 percent of the value of the home, lenders will require you to carry mortgage insurance. Usually you pay those mortgage insurance premiums until your loan-to-value ratio hits 80 percent.

Message 5 of 10
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

@DanTheMan77 wrote:

PMI  = Private Mortgage Insurance

Typically if your down payment is less than 20 percent of the value of the home, lenders will require you to carry mortgage insurance. Usually you pay those mortgage insurance premiums until your loan-to-value ratio hits 80 percent.

There is a Freddie Mac loan with 10% down and no PMI.